Welcome to the Town of Groton, Connecticut

Town Council

34th Town Council

The Council consists of nine members elected at large by the citizens of the Town. Council members are elected for two-year terms. Each party nominates a full slate, and the nine candidates with the greatest number of votes are elected. The Council elects a member to serve as Mayor and Chairman of the Council, presiding over all meetings and performing other duties consistent with the office. The Mayor and Councilors receive no compensation from the Town. The duties of the Council include appointing the Town Manager, Town Attorney, members of Town Boards and Commissions, and various other committees. The Council approves the budget and sets the mill rate following final RTM action, enacts ordinances, and generally establishes basic policy for the Town.

The Town Council regularly meets the first Tuesday of each month at 6:30 p.m. in the Town Hall Annex.